top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Abbey

Genius Hour

As an educator, I know that kids shine in different areas, but are they always seen for their talents and abilities in those areas? Not necessarily. Six years ago while teaching fourth grade, I read an article about something called Genius Hour. The concept is to give kids time during the week, ideally an hour, to discover their passion. What do they love? How do they like to spend their free time? What can they learn about and teach others? At first, I was scared to jump in. How would I manage it? Where would the supplies come from? What would my administrators think? I tried to push the idea aside, but I could not stop thinking about it. Just before winter break I mentioned it to a colleague who was co-teaching with me for one period a day. His response-"that's the best thing I have heard in a long time."


And so it began. Over the years kids have learned to cook, sew, crochet, garden, build, paint, draw and juggle. They have explored space, far away lands, and the human body. They have taught the class to play cricket, basketball and how to make origami. The list goes on and on. But what have they really learned? About themselves. Who they are, what they enjoy and that they can do it! During Genius Hour, my students become problem-solvers, they build perseverance, and they are recognized for their talents. The rules of Genius Hour are simple, everyone matters, everyone has their own unique interests, and everyone must present their genius to the class.


Genius Hour should live in every classroom. It builds community, students are proud to share their expertise and feel recognized by their peers. Genius Hour helps kids to develop a growth mindset-never do I hear the words, "I don't get it". It is student-centered and inquiry-based. It is not graded. Every student is celebrated when they present their genius to the class. Every student sees their ability to shine. 🌟



20 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

That's a Wrap!

We did it! We dared to write. Feelings, memories, experiences, poems, six-word memoirs... Slices of our day and slices of our lives. Thank you for sharing your stories and for reading mine. ❤️

Time to Recharge

T I R E D T E A C H E R Time for bed. Batteries are low, time to recharge.

Six-Word Memoir

Family first. Love, communication, memories, laughter.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page