top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Abbey

It’s on!

There I stood, battling against the clock, waving the white flag, and begging for mercy.


”Please spit it out, please. Nooooo…don’t do this to me…not now! I. Don’t. Have. Time!!!”

Red lights began flashing. An annoying and repetitive beeping sound pierced my ears. Letters and numbers appeared on the screen. D1. E2. Open the door. Turn the handle.

Friday afternoon, the last period of the day, and the copier had chosen now to pick a fight with me? Fellow educators, I know you can relate.

Oh yeah copier, it’s on!


Hatches opening and closing. Knobs turning. Paper crunching.

Aha! Got it!


“That’s what you think, I’m not done with you yet!” Evil Machine beeped.

Next hatch…spin, pull, slam.


Repeat.

Repeat.


Repeat.

Ripping the shredded pink paper from the copier, (that time of year, remember?) “YES!!!” I cried out! “Muahahaha!”

I win!!!


This time. See ya next Friday Evil Machine.





13 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

That's a Wrap!

We did it! We dared to write. Feelings, memories, experiences, poems, six-word memoirs... Slices of our day and slices of our lives. Thank you for sharing your stories and for reading mine. ❤️

Time to Recharge

T I R E D T E A C H E R Time for bed. Batteries are low, time to recharge.

Six-Word Memoir

Family first. Love, communication, memories, laughter.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page