top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Abbey

Love you, but…

I don’t want to go outside, in the rain at 2:30 in the morning. Man’s best friend does not always behave like one.

Last night my 14 year old chihuahua Grace, who I love dearly, decided to start scratching at the bedroom door in the middle of the night. On a night when falling asleep had not come easily. At first I tried to ignore it, but she was not letting up. I was only delaying the inevitable.

Flipping the lights on, I scooped her up and headed downstairs. Grabbed my raincoat, turned on the outside lights, and fastened her harness. Nothing like being pulled from your warm bed into the wet, cold night.

Grace quickly did her business and back up we went. There I was, cold and tired, but my eyes were wide open.

2:43. Still awake.

3:02. Still awake.

Mental math running through my head, I began calculating the amount of sleep I could still get if I fell asleep in the next minute.

The last time I saw the clock it read 3:38. The next time I saw it was 6:40 am. Time to get up. Coffee…

And where was Grace? Sound asleep, without a care in the world. 🐾


3 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

That's a Wrap!

We did it! We dared to write. Feelings, memories, experiences, poems, six-word memoirs... Slices of our day and slices of our lives. Thank you for sharing your stories and for reading mine. ❤️

Time to Recharge

T I R E D T E A C H E R Time for bed. Batteries are low, time to recharge.

Six-Word Memoir

Family first. Love, communication, memories, laughter.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page