top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Abbey

I See You

I am not a big movie watcher. I have to really want to see a movie in order to devote a few hours to it. This weekend, I watched CODA. Without giving anything away, it was a fantastic movie about the struggles of a family living with a disability that affects all of them, even though one doesn’t have it herself. It left me thinking about so much. A student I had years ago whose parents were disabled and struggled to care for him. One of my former students who had a physical disability and bravely stood in front of the class to tell her story. Such courage. I remember fighting back tears as she spoke. She just wanted to be seen for who she was and not for her disability. I saw her. Her bravery, her huge heart, and beautiful smile.


As I sit here typing this slice, one of the actors from CODA, Troy Kotsur, just won an Oscar for his role in the movie. Only the second deaf actor to win one. He thanked his parents and shared that they are no longer alive. I bet they are smiling down on their son tonight.


Never let anyone tell you that you can’t.


5 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

That's a Wrap!

We did it! We dared to write. Feelings, memories, experiences, poems, six-word memoirs... Slices of our day and slices of our lives. Thank you for sharing your stories and for reading mine. ❤️

Time to Recharge

T I R E D T E A C H E R Time for bed. Batteries are low, time to recharge.

Six-Word Memoir

Family first. Love, communication, memories, laughter.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page